top of page
  • Writer's pictureZenith

#IWD2020: Auguste talks favourite albums, BBC Introducing & the inspiration behind her debut single.


 

We caught up with singer-songwriter Auguste, a Manchester based alternative r&b/soul singer. Her debut single, Don't Let Me Down, along with a remix from LOELASH, is out now.



Who are you listening to at the moment?

Ama Lou, Snoh Aalegra, Conan Gray and DEAN.

What was the inspiration behind Don’t Let Me Down?

I felt really let down by a person very close to me. And in a way, staying with them felt like I am letting myself down even more. As empty as that hope might be, I wanted to turn all that bitter disappointment into a sensual calling for love.

Favourite lyric you’ve ever written?

So many I connect to on different levels. But I’d say, ‘Don’t touch my fragile reasons’ from my upcoming single ‘lostintranslation’. I’ve been recording the vocals for it just now - stuck in my head at the moment.


What albums do you never get bored of?

Solange – A Seat at the Table, Sabrina Claudio – Truth Is and an all-time favourite; BEYONCÉ.

Who would you love to be in the studio with?

Nao, GRADES, Sonder and Billie Eilish.

Proudest moment of your career so far?

It was really great doing a live BBC Introducing Manchester session that airs this Saturday (7th March). I enjoyed it so much, I could literally do it every day. Also supporting Declan J Donovan at Gillivers on Thursday, really excited!

What’s the most exciting thing about the Manchester music scene at the moment?

I feel like it always has something special going on. I love all the small venues around - gives the city such a charm. There’s always a chance to hear new music.

Catch Auguste on BBC Introducing Manchester tonight at 8pm.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page