top of page
  • Writer's pictureZenith

#IWD2020: Joni Mitchell to Ari Lennox - 9 of the best albums made by women.


 

A list of nine of my personal favourite female-made albums. In no particular order...


1. Crushing by Julia Jacklin (2019)


My most recent favourite to join the list comes from Julia Jacklin. Crushing is a delicate and intimate record that mixes soft rock and piano ballads. Jacklin wears her heart on her sleeve throughout the album as she touches on failed relationships and self-discovery.


Listen to: Body



2. Ultraviolence by Lana Del Rey (2014)


Perhaps an unpopular choice to be my favourite album from Lana Del Rey, but Ultraviolence was the first record from her that I absolutely fell in love with. It's dark and dreamy and has some of Lana's best ever vocals.


Listen to: Brooklyn Baby



3. Beyoncé by Beyoncé (2013)


One of the most pivotal moments in my experience of being a music listener. This album changed my life and cemented Beyoncé in being the greatest of all time. I used to watch the visuals to Beyoncé on repeat when this album first dropped; completely captivated by Beyoncé's ability to tell stories through song so beautifully.


Listen to: Haunted


4. Back to Black by Amy Winehouse (2006)


Amy Winehouse's untimely death in 2011 still sticks with me even now for some reason. I think that's why I hold Back to Black so dearly in my chest. It's a bittersweet listen; on the one hand enjoyable because it's a truly great album, but on the other, all it does is remind me of all the work we could have had from Winehouse had she have not passed away at only 27.


Listen to: You Know I'm No Good


5. Dua Lipa by Dua Lipa (2017)


Dua Lipa's self-titled debut was a highly anticipated release for me, and it didn't disappoint. I first discovered Dua Lipa after hearing her Spotify Session from 2016 and fell in love. The record is everything I love about pop music; it's fun, fiery and insanely catchy.


Listen to: Begging



6. ANTI by Rihanna (2016)


Perhaps it's the lack of new music from Rihanna that makes me cling onto ANTI so hard. Or perhaps it's just that ANTI is a f*cking masterpiece. Rihanna is fearless and rebellious on her eighth studio album as she steps away from her previous dance pop material and weaves R&B, rock, soul and dancehall sounds together onto one record.


Listen to: Needed Me



7. Shea Butter Baby by Ari Lennox (2019)


Shea Butter Baby is a work of art. Ari Lennox delivers a sound that is sexy and sure of itself with fun lyrics and mighty features from J. Cole and JID. I could never get bored of this album.


Listen to: Pop




8. Blue by Joni Mitchell (1971)


Nobody writes heartache like Joni Mitchell does. I can't quite remember when I first heard Blue (it was released two decades before I was even born) but the lyrics still resonate deeply.


Listen to: A Case of You



9. Pure Heroine by Lorde (2013)


Lorde's debut is one that immediately transports me back to my early teens whenever I listen. It feels like a soundtrack to those confusing, angst-filled years - it makes me feel like my life is a coming-of-age movie. Experimental and daring in all the right ways, Pure Heroine is truly magnificent.


Listen to: Glory and Gore

12 views0 comments
bottom of page